Happy Thanksgiving From the Watson Fellowship

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! I just got this lovely email from my contacts at the Watson Fellowship, which made me quite happy:

Dear Jeremy,
Thanksgiving approaches here in the USA, kicking off the holiday season. For you this Thanksgiving will be a break with traditions, perhaps a holiday meal that’s just a bit off from what you are accustomed to:
Or perhaps you are in a climate far different from what you are used to? However you are spending your holidays this year, keep in mind that while it may not be what is familiar to you, it will certainly be memorable.
Happy Thanksgiving from Watson HQ.
Jennifer, Michele and Chris
 

My Thanksgiving hasn’t been to festive yet today, sleeping in a bit, practicing with the band I have been playing with and eating some tuna fish. Tonight however I get to play a gig with the band at a local venue, and then I will be going to meet up with the Newcastle Kingsmen for what should be a lovely night of dancing! I certainly will be missing pumpkin pie, but am sending my Thanksgiving love to all my wonderful friends and family who are reading!

Update: I played my gig, didn’t have time to go to the dancing, but just wanted to write something more. I am so thankful to the Watson Fellowship for giving me the opportunity to travel around and study sword dancing. I sometimes still can’t believe that I’m actually doing this! I’m thankful to my parents who raised me in a world where I discovered this dancing, as well as gave me a good education and a spirit of adventure. I’m thankful to teachers, particularly at CSW and then Bard, who taught me about discovering knowledge and finally got me to the point where I am willing to write. Notice how much writing is in this blog and be proud! I’m thankful for the amazing friends that I have at home and for the new ones I’m meeting on the road. I’m thankful for everyone who has shared their homes, lives, ideas, skills, dances, food, songs, expertise, passion, and humor with me on this trip. I’m grateful to have my banjo with me, and always have that to fall back on when I’m feeling down. I’m grateful to be healthy in body, mind, and spirit and to have confidence that I can push through whatever obstacles are in my way. I’m grateful to be seeing so many new things and opening my mind to even more.

Happy Thanksgiving

Gobble Gobble

Jeremy

About Jeremy Carter-Gordon

My blog of a year studying point-and-hilt sword dancing on a Watson Fellowship. Enjoy reading, tell me your thoughts and leave me a comment, or visit my website at JeremyCarterGordon.com
This entry was posted in England and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

